UPDATE: The panelists have been selected. Note revised schedule below.

DearMYRTLE’s upcoming AmericaGen STUDY GROUP will feature panelists working to accomplish tasks normally completed by Ol’ Myrt here. What does this mean? We will be studying Researchers Guide to American Genealogy 4th Edition by Val D. Greenwood, 2017 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co.) As such we need a dedicated group of motivated panel participants willing to read a chapter and submit homework in advance of each of our semi-monthly study group sessions. In addition panelists will rotate working in small groups collating homework into a shared .PDF file, inserting comments and moderating the chapter discussion much as DearMYRTLE has done in the past.

SYLLABUS
Researchers Guide to American Genealogy 4th Edition by Val D. Greenwood, 2017 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co.) Available in paperback https://www.amazon.com/Researchers-Guide-American-Genealogy-4th/dp/0806320664

WHEN
Noon Eastern US (New York), 11am Central (Chicago), 10 am Mountain (Salt Lake City and Denver), 9am Pacific (Los Angeles)

SCHEDULE

Wednesday, June 27, 2018 Chapter 5 Libraries and the National Archives NARA
Wednesday, July 11, 2018 Chapter 6 Reference Works
Wednesday, July 25, 2018 Chapter 7 Organizing and Evaluating Your Research Findings
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 Chapter 8 Successful Correspondence
Wednesday, August 29, 2018 Chapter 9 Computer Technology and Family History
Skip session
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 Chapter 10 Family History on the Internet
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 Chapter 11 Family History: Going Beyond Genealogy
Wednesday, October 31, 2018 Chapter 12 Compiled Sources & Newspapers
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Chapter 13 Vital Records
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 Chapter 14 Census Returns
Wednesday, December 12, 2018 Chapter 15 Using Census Records in Your Research
Wednesday, January 9, 2019 Chapter 16 Understanding Probate Records & Legal Terminology
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 Chapter 17 What About Wills?
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 Chapter 18 The Intestate, Miscellaneous Probate Records and Guardianships
Skip Session
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 Chapter 19 Local Land Records
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 Chapter 20 Abstracting Probate and Land Records
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 Chapter 21 Abstracting Probate and Land Records
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 Chapter 22 Court Records and Family History
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 Chapter 23 Property Rights of Women as a Consideration
Wednesday, May 22, 2019 Chapter 24 Church Records and Family History
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 Chapter 25 Immigrant Origins: American Finding Aids
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 Chapter 26 Military Records: Colonial Wars and the American Revolution
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 Chapter 27 Military Records: After the Revolution
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 Chapter 28 Cemetery and Burial Records


DearMYRTLE's Profile Pic
Myrt’s Musings

Here’s the link to DearMYRTLE’s Event Calendar – http://hangouts.dearmyrtle.com/calendar.html

Here’s the link to the GeneaWebinars Blog & Calendar of other genealogy webinars, chats and hangouts – http://blog.geneawebinars.com/p/calendar.html