AmericaGen Study Group

We’re stepping things up a notch and adding a second session nearly every month to the AmericaGen Study Group. Our adjusted schedule will be as follows:

Wednesday, June 27, 2018 Chapter 5 Libraries and the National Archives NARA
Wednesday, July 11, 2018 Chapter 6 Reference Works
Wednesday, July 25, 2018 Chapter 7 Organizing and Evaluating Your Research Findings
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 Chapter 8 Successful Correspondence
Wednesday, August 29, 2018 Chapter 9 Computer Technology and Family History
Skip session – Unlock the Past Alaska Cruise
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 Chapter 10 Family History on the Internet
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 Chapter 11 Family History: Going Beyond Genealogy
Wednesday, October 31, 2018 Chapter 12 Compiled Sources & Newspapers
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 Chapter 13 Vital Records
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 Chapter 14 Census Returns
Wednesday, December 12, 2018 Chapter 15 Using Census Records in Your Research
Wednesday, January 9, 2019 Chapter 16 Understanding Probate Records & Legal Terminology
Wednesday, January 23, 2019 Chapter 17 What About Wills?
Wednesday, February 13, 2019 Chapter 18 The Intestate, Miscellaneous Probate Records and Guardianships
Skip Session – RootsTech 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 Chapter 19 Local Land Records
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 Chapter 20 Abstracting Probate and Land Records
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 Chapter 21 Abstracting Probate and Land Records
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 Chapter 22 Court Records and Family History
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 Chapter 23 Property Rights of Women as a Consideration
Wednesday, May 22, 2019 Chapter 24 Church Records and Family History
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 Chapter 25 Immigrant Origins: American Finding Aids
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 Chapter 26 Military Records: Colonial Wars and the American Revolution
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 Chapter 27 Military Records: After the Revolution
Wednesday, July 31, 2019 Chapter 28 Cemetery and Burial Records

REGISTRATION
https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_m-BvT1rGQGWI6RMyC2YRKw

ARCHIVE
Sessions are archived at: http://dearmyrtle.com/blog2/index.php/blog/

SYLLABUS
Researchers Guide to American Genealogy 4th Edition by Val D. Greenwood, 2017 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co.) Available in paperback https://www.amazon.com/Researchers-Guide-American-Genealogy-4th/dp/0806320664

NOTICE
Due to copyright restrictions, panel participants have been instructed to write about one part of the chapter that “speaks to” them. Examples are from their own research. When quoting the author, Val D. Greenwood, panelists will merely incorporate a sentence or two in their homework.

All panelists have viewed The Legal Genealogist Judy Russell’s interview with DearMYRTLE and Cousin Russ located here:
https://youtu.be/uFpET_NWFeU

 


DearMYRTLE's Profile Pic
Myrt’s Musings

Here’s the link to DearMYRTLE’s Event Calendar – http://hangouts.dearmyrtle.com/calendar.html

Here’s the link to the GeneaWebinars Blog & Calendar of other genealogy webinars, chats and hangouts – http://blog.geneawebinars.com/p/calendar.html