DearMYRTLE hangouts & webinar this coming week

MondaysWithMyrt

MONDAYS WITH MYRT (90 minutes) 9 Oct 2017 – Register here.  Practical, down-to-earth advice for family historians. We talk about what’s come across our genea-desks in the past week. Let’s explore methodology and websites, figure out how DNA test results may or may not match our paper-trail research, explore new family history software and apps, hash out our commitment to the Genealogical Proof Standard, and maybe get organized. Powerful breakthroughs happen during our live hangouts. Catch the rebroadcast here, along with all the links we mentionNoon Eastern US (New York), 11am Central US (Chicago), 10am Mountain US (Denver, Salt Lake City), 9am Pacific US (Los Angeles). See also:


GenDocStudyGroup_Logo

GenDoc 5 STUDY GROUP (60 minutes) Wednesday, 11 Oct 2017 – Register here. Chapter 5 – “Capitalization, Italics, Punctuation and Other Citation Subtleties” from Thomas W. Jones’ Mastering Genealogical DocumentationNoon Eastern US (New York), 11am Central US (Chicago), 10am Mountain US (Denver, Salt Lake City), 9am Pacific US (Los Angeles). You can catch the previous sessions here:


WACKYWednesdayPromo

WACKY WEDNESDAY (60 minutes) Wednesday, 11 Oct 2017 – Register here. Topic to be announced based on our conversation during this week’s Mondays with Myrt9pm Eastern US (New York), 8pm Central US (Chicago), 7pm Mountain US (Denver, Salt Lake City), 6pm Pacific US (Los Angeles). Check out last week’s session Watermarks & Source Labels.


Image: Is your society growing

Is Your Society Growing? Social media may be your saving grace Friday, 13 Oct 2017 Register here. It’s all about selling the sizzle! Ask genealogists about the perceived value of joining a genealogy society, the will invariably say

  • networking with friends and colleagues
  • great presenters access to “boots on the ground” experts

This webinar discusses 10 ideas to pump new life into genealogy & historical societies and family associations. Based on DearMYRTLE’s blog post Do Conferences Need Bloggers? . At FamilyTreeWebinars featuring DearMYRTLE & Cousin Russ.  2pm Eastern (New York), 1pm Central (Chicago), 12pm Mountain (Denver, Salt Lake City), 11am Pacific (Los Angeles).


Genealogy Game Night Logo

GENEALOGY GAME NIGHT(60 minutes) Saturday, 14 Oct 2017 – Register here. This is your chance to practice using your headset mic and web cam while we play Who’s In My Line? There will be prizes! 9pm Eastern US (New York), 8pm Central US (Chicago), 7pm Mountain US (Denver, Salt Lake City), 6pm Pacific US (Los Angeles).


FOR FURTHER READING

Ethnicity graphic created by DearMYRTLE

DearMYRTLE and Cousin Russ recognize the United Nations’ International Decade for People of African Descent 2015-2024. We reach out to _all_ regardless of race, color, creed or national origin with support for researching family and documenting cultural inheritancehttp://www.un.org/en/events/africandescentdecade/ 

AFTER the hangout we continue the conversation over on http://bit.ly/DearMYRTLEonGoogle

ARCHIVED VERSION If you miss the live events, catch the archived version at your convenience. It’s usually available within the hour after the *live* recording has concluded. http://hangouts.DearMYRTLE.com

Missing Mondays with Myrt? View TIME LINES

Gosh, how can it be Monday without hanging out together? If you are like Ol’ Myrt here, suffering withdrawal, why not tune in to this WACKY Wednesday session featuring Dr. Shelley Murphy. It’s all about how time lines can organize our research findings and assist in arriving at conclusions about events in an ancestor’s life.

 

Happy family tree climbing@
Myrt     🙂
DearMYRTLE,
Your friend in genealogy.